This week, the 8th Annual Public Sector CIO Academy was held in Sacramento to recognize the hard work of IT professionals and executives in California State Government.

Whether it’s leading an effort to refresh enterprise software, managing a multimillion dollar project, collaborating with programs or motivating staff to meet rigorous deadlines, staff were honored for their leadership and excellence in technology to advance their department’s agenda. Employees are nominated by state agency executives and honored by the CIO Academy Advisory Board which consists of public and private-sector IT professionals.

“This is a terrific opportunity for the IT community to recognize the accomplishments of state employees,” said Andrew Armani, the co-Founder of the conference and Agency CIO for the State and Consumer Services Agency. “These are dedicated, passionate and future leaders of the state IT who go above and beyond to get the job done.”

Public CIO Magazine editor Jon Fyffe and Acting Technology Agency Secretary Christy Quinlan presided over the awards ceremony.

2011’s outstanding IT managers include:

Edward Przepiorski, Data Processing Manager III, Air Resources Board.
Adelina Zendejas, Manager, Enterprise Systems Analysis and Support Section, Board of Equalization.
Michael Fogarty, Manager of the Support Services Branch, California Technology Agency
Russ Guarna, Director of Policy and Project Approval Office, California Technology Agency
Scott Paterson, Manager of the Enterprise Services Section, California Technology Agency
Jeanette Brazil, Manager of Enterprise Desktop Support Services, CalPERS
Chris Riesen, Chief Enterprise Architect, CalPERS
Timothy Taylor, Application Development & Support Section Chief, CalPERS
Tommy Vang, Senior Information Systems Analyst from the Department of Alcohol Beverage Control, CalPERS
Scott Robinson, Manager of the Telecommunications Unit, Department of Consumer Affairs
Robert Patterson, Manager, EIS/AMS-Enterprise Web & Collaboration Solutions, California Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation (CDCR)
Carrie Daves, Manager of the Division of Adult Parole Operations (DAPO) Field Support, CDCR
Carolyn Wong, Data Processing Manager III, Department of Finance
Gary Dean, Service Desk Manager, Department of Food and Agriculture
Hence Phillips, ITS Applications Unit Supervisor, Department of Food and Agriculture:
Christine McCaleb, CIO, Department of Housing and Community Development
Richard Fu, Data Processing Manager I , Department of Motor Vehicles
Chad Crowe, Staff Programmer Analyst, Application Development Lead, Department of Personnel Administration
Larry Wasson, Information Technology Branch Chief, Department of Pesticide Regulation
Betsy Vallejo, Data Processing Manager II, Department of Public Health
Greg Weber, Infrastructure Branch Chief, Department of Healthcare Services
Andrea Wright, Chief Network Operation Branch, Department of Social Services
Ron Bryant, Chief, Sacramento Metropolitan Customer Support , Caltrans
Thys Bohr, Information Security Officer, Department of Veterans Affairs
Kathy Hardmeyer, Department of Veterans Affairs
Mario Garcia, Information Management Division Chief, California National Guard
Lt Col Eric Roberts, Information Management Deputy , California National Guard
Rosanna Sugimoto, Data Processing Manager III, Employment Development Department
Christian Turner, Data Processing Manager II, Employment Development Department
Jim Wang, Systems Software Specialist II (Supervisor), Department of Industrial Relations
Ben Williams, Data Processing Manager III, Employment Development Department
John Sulenta, Manager, Collection Systems Development Section, Franchise Tax Board
Isaiah Mall, Supervisor, Web Development and Support Unit, State Personnel Board
Carla Nishimura, Bureau Chief, Technology Services, State Controller’s Office
Rudy Artau, Data Processing Manager II, State Water Resources Control Board
Jeff Funk, Chief Information Officer, Department of Fish and Game
Robert Syphax, Chief, Enterprise Storage Management , Department of Water Resources
Phillip Usrey, Technical Architect , Department of Parks and Recreation
Sheri Wong, Chief, IT Business Management Office, Department of Water Resources