Congratulations to Technology Award Winners!

Article Posted by Teri Takai, Chief Information Officer

It is that time again when the Government Technology Conference is being held in Sacramento to, among other things, showcase all of the great work California IT professionals are doing to help improve government operations.   Each year, Government Technology Magazine honors the most innovative and hardworking state officials for their many contributions.   This year, I am thrilled to announce that Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation Secretary Matthew Cate is being honored with the Innovation and Vision Award for his leadership and dedication.   Secretary Cate has been a technology champion and a great inspiration to us.

Also being honored with the Innovation and Vision Award are Agency Chief Information Officers Crystal Cooper of the California Health and Human Services Agency and Chris Cruz of the Department of Food and Agriculture.   Crystal and Chris have shown great leadership within their departments and across the Executive Branch as we work to help modernize and consolidate IT.  

I would also like to acknowledge 39 state employees who are being honored for Outstanding IT Service and Support in state government.    These individuals were nominated by their department or agency CIO for their terrific work.  Please join me in congratulating them for doing an outstanding job!    

  • Kevin Hudgens – Board of Equalization
  • Dawn Larsen – Business Transportation & Housing Agency
  • Jay Ardent – California National Guard
  • John Heskins – California National Guard
  • Ron Ralph – CalFIRE
  • Bruce McLeod – California Highway Patrol
  • Tim Brown – CalPERS
  • Renee Ostrander – CalPERS
  • Belinda Robbins – CalPERS
  • Andrew Nguyen – Department of Alcohol and Drug Programs
  • Spencer Beni – Department of Consumer Affairs
  • Elisabeth Swearing – Department of Consumer Affairs
  • Caroline Bigelow – Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation
  • Ken Ritzman – Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation
  • Stephanie Haugen – Department of Finance
  • Chris Cox – Department of Food and Agriculture
  • Genevieve Guerrero – Department of Food and Agriculture
  • Mark Tyler – Department of Motor Vehicles
  • Trevor Bailey – Department of Personnel Administration
  • Denise Martinez – Department of Real Estate
  • Jeffrey Adge – Department of Social Services
  • Suzanne Slayton – Department of Transportation
  • Robert Jarumay – Department of Water Resources
  • Ash Keval – Department of Water Resources
  • Patty Ketchum – Employment Development Department
  • Kin Lam – Employment Development Department
  • John Tremble – Employment Development Department
  • Susan Cadieux – Franchise Tax Board
  • Michele Robinson – Office of Information Security
  • Katrina Yang – Office of Information Security
  • Deb Wong – Office of Statewide Health Planning and Development
  • Larry Baltezore –Office of Systems Integration
  • James Finch – Office of Technology Services
  • Calvin Matsumoto – Office of Technology Services
  • Robert Meza – Office of Technology Services
  • Jon Dickinson – Office of the State CIO
  • Bill Maile – Office of the State CIO
  • Debra Gonzales – State and Consumer Services Agency
  • Kathy Duke – State Controller’s Office